Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Editors (Photoshop, Vegas, Final Cut Pro, Kdenlive, etc.)

Old Jan 4, 2009, 5:17 AM   #1

I am new to Adobe Elements 6.

A confusing thing happened when I treated some of my shots inElements and would like to know what to do or where to change the Image properties output, when saved in Elements.

As you can see in the screen-shot below, all pictures in this list are in 3648x2736-format. The picture I treated was saved in Elements in the same format (did not crop or change anything else but contrast) but when viewed in my AcDc-browser that particular picture has different properties - It showed 160x120x16M instead, cannot be in pixels, anyway. What type of measurements are these and is it possible to change these measurements in Elements?

Anybody out there with a good explanation or remedy?

:^(
Attached Images

Walter_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 7, 2009, 1:36 AM   #2

The figures do appear to be in pixels. My guess is that you either somehow resized the image as you were working on it, or you are looking at a thumbnail image created by Elements during the save process.

There should be a dialog box which appears when you save an image, and there is a box for saving to catalog (something like that) which is by default, checked. I don't use the catalog, so always uncheck the box, so can't say what the effect is. I think that this is what generates the thumbnail, though. There is also a box to 'save as copy' which generates a new picture entirely, without altering the original. This is generally regarded as the best way to work, so one doesn't irrevocably alter something, only to decide later that is wasn't what was wanted.

brian
VTphotog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2009, 5:18 AM   #3

Thank you for your comments, VTphotog.