Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Editors (Photoshop, Vegas, Final Cut Pro, Kdenlive, etc.)

Old Jul 25, 2010, 5:11 PM   #1

Default Help with Gimp

I downloaded Gimp and was wanting to crop some photos to put onto this site. I use a Nikkon D500 and use their view NX. I was wanting to know, do I need to use a Raw file to edit or a Jpeg and once I edit them, will my original Raw files be forever adjusted? How can I adjust some photos and keep my original files intact? I hope I explained myself. Sorry, I am new to editing and would like some help if it's possible to do so over these threads.

Thanks,
wolverines is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 25, 2010, 5:17 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolverines View Post
I downloaded Gimp and was wanting to crop some photos to put onto this site. I use a Nikkon D500 and use their view NX. I was wanting to know, do I need to use a Raw file to edit or a Jpeg and once I edit them, will my original Raw files be forever adjusted? How can I adjust some photos and keep my original files intact? I hope I explained myself. Sorry, I am new to editing and would like some help if it's possible to do so over these threads.

Thanks,
Do "Save As" instead of "Save".
My Gallery

--
Hebrews 13:3
gjtoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2010, 5:22 PM   #3

I'm not a Gimp user, but your question is general enough that I think I can answer it.
When you have finished editing a photo, you should always 'Save As ..' instead of just 'Save'. In this way, you will not overwrite your original. If you have opened a Raw file type and save it in jpeg format, you don't change the Raw in any way. Some editors will allow you to change and save a Raw file, but most will require you to save it in standard format such as jpeg or tiff.

brian
VTphotog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2010, 10:50 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolverines View Post

Thanks,