Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Editors (Photoshop, Vegas, Final Cut Pro, Kdenlive, etc.)

Old Aug 29, 2010, 1:09 PM   #1

Default Beginner-friendly programme

Hi,

I'm a complete novice at photoediting (actually never tried it at all), but am about to buy the FZ38. Could you recommend a starter free editing programme, that is novice-friendly but will meet most editing needs? Having had a quick look through the forums, Picasa or Irfanview seem to be popular - would these be ok or would you recommend something else? Do those programmes also do noise reduction, or do I need a second programme for that?

Also, at some point when I've learnt more how to use the camera, I would like to try HDR - do I need a different programme for that?
AshL is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 29, 2010, 1:16 PM   #2

infranview is good for resizing / sharpening ...... gimp might be the one your looking for http://www.gimp.org/ as for hdr try martin sykes auto hdr look in the hdr section as for noise a good freebie is noiseware http://noiseware-community-edition.en.softonic.com/
Old Aug 29, 2010, 7:48 PM   #3

The Gimp may be a little more than you want to jump into as a beginner. Irfanview has a lot of nice features, but is somewhat limited. You can, though, do a lot of basic editing tasks, such as cropping, adjusting exposure/color, resizing. It also works with photoshop plugins (not all are compatible, though), so there are quite a lot of more advanced things you can do as well.