Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Editors (Photoshop, Vegas, Final Cut Pro, Kdenlive, etc.)

Old Dec 20, 2011, 7:42 PM   #1

Default Paintshop Pro, anyone?

Let me preface by saying I am no professional by any means, just a beginning hobbyist who mainly photographs my kids. I am familiar with Adobe Creative Suite, including Photoshop, from some graphics work I did in college a few years back but as a more casual snapshooter I am definitely not looking to invest in buying Photoshop, Lightroom, or any of the best programs to help raise my image quality.

So, Newegg has a deal on Paintshop Pro that ends up free after a rebate. I know nothing about this program. Yes it's free, but I'm a busy person, is it worth investing my time using it? Can it do any similar things to the higher-end programs? Any idea if it can edit RAW?
knaidel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 20, 2011, 7:49 PM   #2

Capabilities are roughly on par with Elements (fancier tools are 8-bit, not RAW). My experience with an old version was that it was buggy once in a while. So I now use Elements instead, but free is an awfully nice price! Another freebie is GIMP.

Kelly Cook
Old Dec 20, 2011, 8:59 PM   #3

I actually have GIMP, but never got around to figuring it out. At first glance, it did not seem intuitive but maybe I need to give it a chance. Can GIMP do RAW? I just got a Canon S95 and I hear great things can be done with RAW files, though I don't know anything about them yet. I'm a recent upgrade from full P&S.
Old Dec 20, 2011, 9:24 PM   #4

PSP is nice stuff... especially when it's free. I prefer Gimp, though. And, yes, it can handle RAW.
My Gallery

--
Hebrews 13:3
gjtoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2011, 10:56 PM   #5

Your Canon CD may have included the program Digital Photo Professional. Definitely RAW and definitely worthwhile.

Kelly
KCook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2011, 3:14 AM   #6