Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Editors (Photoshop, Vegas, Final Cut Pro, Kdenlive, etc.)

Old Jul 12, 2012, 12:42 PM   #1

Default What is the first editing you do to your photos?

I am new to photography, and have Aperture 3. I just wanted to ask everyone on here, what is the first things you do with a photo to start getting it to look a bit better? I know that this can really vary by photograph...but I just wanted to peek into other peoples work processes so that I can learn.

I.e. first adjust white balance, then I do touch ups, etc etc....

Right now, I just auto enhance and play with some sliders and brushes
Scottyent is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 12, 2012, 2:52 PM   #2

I remove purple fringing using Adobe Camera Raw. Not sure if that would be considered "editing"...
vvcarpio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 2:56 PM   #3

well as the person who's pictures i was most recently admiring, thanks for the feedback
Old Jul 12, 2012, 4:05 PM   #4

G'day Scotty

At first glance into your post -
my first editing operation is to chuck out the 2/3 of images that I don't get excited about!! I find that with any day of shooting that I come home with lots of 'stuff' and plenty of very similar images

First thing I do is load images 6 at a time into the editor and scroll up & down thru them looking for variations and slowly removing those with a 'blemish' when I end up with 2 remaining I keep them and delete the others

Having pruned-down my images to 1/3 of the starting number, I then start to look in more detail at the image to see -if- the 'best' needs any pp ... mostly the answer is no editing req'd so it goes into the storage folder as-is

pp when it occurs = levels, curves, + sharpening @ 10% occasionally

Regards, Phil
Ozzie_Traveller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2012, 3:18 AM   #5

Hey Phil!