Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Editors (Photoshop, Vegas, Final Cut Pro, Kdenlive, etc.)

Old Feb 16, 2004, 7:53 PM   #1
CPH

Default Need HELP with Album products and with organisation strategy

Hi, Everyone.

I am new here, and I am a newbie in digital photography. I have seen the light. I sold all my 12 analog SLR lenses, bodies and assessories. I did some research and bought my first digital camera (Olympus C-5060), a DVD writer, Adobe Creative Suite Premium CS, which includes Photoshop CS, and a Canon MP730 colour printer.

I still have to take time to learn all the features in the camera and in the software and it seems I will need to take 6 months' leave to do that. I am exhausted already just getting to this point.

OK, my immediate need is for something to deal with all the digital images and organise my pictures and it seems Photoshop Album 2.0 is the best product, is it?. Some questions:

Is this Photoshop Album a different product, with features not included in Photoshop CS? In other words, do I need it? Why wasn't it integrated into Photoshop for easier use (and it is called Photoshop Album)?

Does anyone have or know about a good strategy for archiving to DVD so that it is easy to find pictures later and so that they are safe? I can see that I will soon have thousands of images in a big mess. Should I just get a second hard disk for backup?

Any other advice on effective organising, pointers or articles would be most appreciated.
CPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 16, 2004, 8:37 PM   #2
CPH

Hi.

I am still looking and I found some other highly regarded and what appear to be more professional products. Has anyone used them?

"Imatch"

http://www.pcphotoreview.com/pscSoft...0_3080crx.aspx

"Digital Photo Librarian"

http://www.pcphotoreview.com/pscSoft...g/O%20%20Neil%

and there are more on the same site.
Old Feb 16, 2004, 8:45 PM   #3
CPH