Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Editors (Photoshop, Vegas, Final Cut Pro, Kdenlive, etc.)

Old Mar 22, 2004, 11:32 AM   #1

Default layers help

I have a question, but I'm not really sure how to phrase it. I'll give it a go.

I am fairly new to Photoshop and picture editing. I have learned enough to get around, and I’m generally happy with the results I get. But I know that I could do better.

One of the biggest mental “leaps” in Photoshop is (I’m told) to go from working in one layer to using multiple layers. I have only tried to do this a few times, with rather unhappy results. My problem is as much with the interface with layers as it is with how to use them. It’s like you have always cooked dinner using a certain few utensils and then someone gives you a multi-function “Swiss Army Utensil” as it were. You look at the thing and say “I don’t even know when to use it, let alone how!”

My problem is that I look at layers and I think “When should I use them?” “What problem are they good to solve?” “What all is possible with the layers pallet & how do I leverage that?” And then I think “I really just wanted to edit this picture and get back to doing fun things” and I don’t use them.

So where is this ramble going? I’m not exactly sure. I can think of a few things that might help, but maybe you have some other ideas?

What do you use layers for? Give me an example of a problem that they solve is a good way (easier, better, whatever) and describe what you do!

Do you know any good books that describe layers really well? Web page? I found the on-line help that came with PS didn’t do a very good job with layers, but maybe I didn’t read enough of it?

How do you think when using layers? They seem to require a different mindset than just editing in a linear “do this, then this, then this” to a single layer.

Or if you had a different thought while reading this that you think might help! I’m trying to both learn something and start a dialog here.

Eric