Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Editors (Photoshop, Vegas, Final Cut Pro, Kdenlive, etc.)

Old May 12, 2004, 10:18 PM   #1

My new computer included a suite of ULead products, including PhotoImpact 8 SE. I'm new to digital photgraphy and still photo editing (I have experience withvideo editing). I've struggledto get a grip on using this program, although I've only spent about 3+ hours simply trying to get red-eye out of a picture of our cat. The red-eye tool - when I did finally find it-is geared for round pupils, not eliptical. PI8seems robust, but for my first couple of efforts it seemed overlyclunky and notintuitive.The multi-PDFs for the owners manual is a lot to wade through and- like most software instructions -lacks alogical flow andprocedural "How do I" index and instructions for basic things like red-eye reduction, simple cropping & dodging, minor color correction, glare reductions etc. To me those kinds of things should preceedentertaining more sophisticated layout,content, and layering effects.

Is it just me? Anybody have experience with this program - can I ever learn to do basic stuff without having to take a year lgetting that far?

I just bought the Canon i960 printer but haven't had time to set it up yet. From comments I've seen in these forums, I wonder if its sofware is more intuitive and adept at basic stuff?

I'm sure open to tutorial ideas for PI8, other inexpensive software options,and opinions if I should stick it out with my freebie PI8 - maybe I'm just slow.

Thanks,

-Doug-
KCDoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 13, 2004, 10:40 PM   #2

Photoimpact is not easy to use initially .. But it is very very powerful. The only program that rivals it is Photoshop.

This programis written by team that originally wrote Photoshop (called Photostyler).

go here and run through a few tutorials http://www.ulead.com/learning/pi.htm