Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Editors (Photoshop, Vegas, Final Cut Pro, Kdenlive, etc.)

Old Sep 16, 2004, 3:44 AM   #1

I am new to digital photography and have a canon a75. now i take lot of snaps. I do not know how to organise them meaningfully.

Can some kind person let me know how to organise these photos. alos i want to know which FREEWARE i can use to organise these.

hari is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 16, 2004, 10:51 AM   #2
Zal

Try Picasa. It's pretty good, and it's free:

http://www.picasa.com
Zal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2004, 7:01 PM   #3

There are two basic issues: keeping track of your originals (digital negatives) and keeping track of your fully editied shots. File your originals by date and keep a "shooter's diary" with brief notes like: "2004 Sept 16 - Cousin Bertha's wedding, stopped at the zoo on the way back". That way you can search your diary for key words, find the date, and then find the original.

That doesn't mean you shouldn't use one of the database systems, but even if you do, the diary is a nice back-up. Just put a copy of the entire diary on every CD of your original, unaltered original photos (your digital negatives - don't mess with them) you burn for back-up and you can locate things fairly quickly.

If you also keep the date as part of the file name (e.g., BerthasWedding040916.jpg) you will be able to find the original easily if/when you botch editing it.
BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2004, 10:38 AM   #4