Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Editors (Photoshop, Vegas, Final Cut Pro, Kdenlive, etc.)

Old Oct 16, 2004, 10:29 AM   #1

IIs there a website that does reviews on image editing software? I am interested in buying the latest paint shop because of the price of photoshop. Pro nine does have histogram, curves, channel mixer and of course, layers and many other features. I would like to read some reviews as well as comments from forum members because I am new to digital manipulation of images. I have no idea of what I would be missing if I choose paint shop over photoshop.
roger s2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 21, 2004, 6:55 AM   #2

The biggest thing that you would be losing would be the wealth of good books available at your local bookstore. It doesn't matter how good an image editor is, if you can't figure out how to use it. Also, Elements 3 is coming out October 27th and it will have the mend tool. Although it doesn't have curves, The Gimp does and it is free. If you already know how to use an image editor, try downloading and using The Gimp. My bet would be to purchase Elements 3 and download The Gimp.
The Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2004, 7:49 AM   #3