Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Editors (Photoshop, Vegas, Final Cut Pro, Kdenlive, etc.)

Old Dec 29, 2004, 6:02 PM   #1

I moved this, because I think I posted it in the wrong forum. Sorry

1.Well, I'm new to this bored, but it looks pretty neat. Anyways. I have a Sony DCR-HC30 miniDV camcorder and I use Sony Picture Package to download my videos. When I try to make a VCD, it says "please insert a writeable CD-R disc" or "the target drive is empty". While the other programs recognize the empty CD-R.

I have two disc drives (one CD-R/DVD-R & CDROM/DVDROM)...so it is possible it could be reading the wrong drive? I hope you understood my problem, any help would be appreciated.

2. In SPP, is there anyway to just download the video onto my computer, without all the added affects (as they do in auto-video producer)

Jad:?
Jadabiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 25, 2005, 8:17 AM   #2

I have the identical problem with the same camera.

Its either one of two things your drive isn`t compatable with SPP or you have windows XP service pack 2 installed.

SPP dosen`t work with Windows XP service Pack 2 ,apparently Pixela are working with Sony to get a download or new version available, but no date has been given for release.

In the meantime it means that anybody with XPSP2 will find that their new Sony camcorder comes with software that dosen`t work, so you will be unable to transfer film onto CD.

For nowyou can use windows Movie Maker, although the downside is that it saves your recorded material as a WMV file, and most DVD players won`t read that format.

A big boob on the part of Sony I think.

Come on Sony sort it out.

Wish I had bought a JVC !

Cyanide Sid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2005, 4:55 PM   #3

Ya, i use windows movie maker and i luv it <3 Have you ever used WinDVD maker? I have that too bunt I don't know which is better?

jad

Jadabiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2005, 10:15 PM   #4