Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Editors (Photoshop, Vegas, Final Cut Pro, Kdenlive, etc.)

Old Jan 18, 2005, 6:21 AM   #1

What is the difference between the different types of photoshop products eg CS and elements?

I am a newbie but would like to really get into digital photography, so what do you recommend. I am aware of price difference, but this isn't a deciding factor for me in this case.

Thanks.

Mart.
incognito167 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 18, 2005, 10:42 AM   #2

If price isn't a deciding factor and you really want to get into photo editing get Photoshop. Elements has more newbe help features, but there are great tutorials online for Photoshop that take you from beginner basics to the very sophisticated. Elements is a bit stunted so people will pay the price for Photoshop and not just get Elements. You run into limitations when you get to higher levels of editing. There are great actions available for Photoshop that require special software to run in Elements for example.
slipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2005, 11:11 AM   #3

Thanks Slipe.

I think i'll get photoshop.

I know there are alot of tutorials on the web, but which are the better ones - more concise, but reader-friendly too.

Thanks.
Mart.
incognito167 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2005, 11:23 AM   #4

Photoshop CS does like its memory, especially if you discover layers:-). If you don't have much ramin your PC, it will be on your next upgrade list :lol:

As for tutorials a hardcopy I found to be excellent is "The Adobe Photoshop CS Book for Digital Photographers " by Scott Kelby http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0735714118/102-4403180-9427316

Ok, whyhas my font gone so big even though it is showing as size 1 in the editor screen.
PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2005, 12:33 PM   #5

You don't want most tutorials "concise" IMO. The more detail the easier they are to follow.