Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Editors (Photoshop, Vegas, Final Cut Pro, Kdenlive, etc.)

Old Apr 12, 2005, 10:04 AM   #1

Hi All,

I have never used a forum before, but I have been sitting at this damn computer for hours on end (hence 'sleepless') and I have not got a clue as to which program will help me read .thm files on my computer.

A friend of mine was playing around with my Canon S70. He managed to not just delete all 400 photos I had on there, but actually FORMAT the CF card. What a dipstick! I was not impressed.

The good news, when I bought my Lexar 2GB CF card, I received retrieval software for free. It can recover lost, deleted, images from cards that have even been formatted. Good news right? So far.

I successfully managed to retrieve 400 photos with the help of this great software. The only thing is, it was retrieved and saved into My Pictures in a format I have never heard of - extension .thm

I have not been able to find ANYTHING in freeware that can read this.

Any ideas anyone?

Thanks in advance,

VERY VERY sleepless

sleepless is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 12, 2005, 10:18 AM   #2

When most digital cameras take an image they also produce a thumbnail for viewing on the camera LCD. I'm afraid you were just able to extract the thumbnails and not the images.

If you have XP I think you can just select View>Thumbnails and you might be able to see the thumbnails. EXIF viewer uses the thumbnail images for its thumbnails, so it might be able to show them. http://home.pacbell.net/michal_k/exif_v.html

If the thumbnails are there the images might be as well. You might try the recovery software again.

slipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2005, 5:48 PM   #3

Thanks for your info slipe, but still no success.

I will try to recover them again and see what happens.

Cheers

Old Apr 13, 2005, 4:06 AM   #4