Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Editors (Photoshop, Vegas, Final Cut Pro, Kdenlive, etc.)

View Poll Results: GIMP:
Never tried it. 7 46.67%
Tried it, loved it. 4 26.67%
Tried it, went back to my old software. 4 26.67%
I refuse to use something free, because I think that if it is free it must suck. 0 0%
Voters: 15. You may not vote on this poll

Old Dec 19, 2002, 10:12 AM   #1

Default How many people use GIMP?

Just wondering how many people here use GIMP? GNU Image Manipulation Program. For those of you not in to the open source software movement, the 'GNU' part means free.

I have used it for 3 years now, due to lack of alternative on a Unix operating system. I am just getting into digicams now, and suddenly got curious as to how many photo-editing buffs actually use the software.

I have read reviews of professionals who converted from PhotoShop! I believe these were people who owned their own business, thus partly want to save $$$, but...

Anyway, it is free, and available for pretty much every major OS (Windows, Unix, Mac, AmigaOS, ....). Once you get used to the user interface, you may like it. www.gimp.org

~S

ps - I am in no way affiliated w/ the GIMP project
snowsquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 19, 2002, 12:00 PM   #2

I use Linux at work ( non-multimedia related ) and I'm very comfortable with it. I have tried the GiMP on more than one occasion and quite enjoy the ease of use it provides. However, the reasons I don't use it at home is;

1. Dual Booting is not worth the effort when all my media apps in Win32 do the job.

2. My firewire card, scanner and printer are brand new and will more than likely have lack of support ( initially ). Printer drivers for linux are usually sub-par for photos (correct me if I'm wrong) as I haven't try them out with my new Canon S9000.

I might try the Windows http://www.gimp.org/~tml/gimp/win32/ version of the GiMP to see what the prints are like.