Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Editors (Photoshop, Vegas, Final Cut Pro, Kdenlive, etc.)

Old Jun 13, 2005, 11:44 PM   #1

I am new to NEF files and the interaction with Photoshop CS/ACR RAW converter. When I either select a file from a directory or click on a NEF file and "open with" the only thing that launches is a small program window in PS CS from which I can only adjust the EV value, not the ACR converter plug in. I am familiar with using ACR with Fuji RAF files and had no problems. Any help in educating me or pointing me in the correct trouble shooting direction will be appreciated. I am a Windows 2000 user, I have, I hope, uninstalled the Nikon editor software that had been installed previously (30 day trial). If there are any files (Nikon software remnants) to look for that may conflict, that would be appreciated as well.

nfll is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 14, 2005, 8:07 AM   #2
DBB

What is opening is the Nikon window, not the ACR window.

You have to make sure that the ACR plug-in is in the File Format folder, located inside the Plugins Folder, and you have to remove the Nikon plug-in. The Nikon plug in will run even if ACR is installed.

dave
DBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2005, 9:46 AM   #3

Thanks for the reply Dave,