Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Editors (Photoshop, Vegas, Final Cut Pro, Kdenlive, etc.)

Old Oct 9, 2005, 10:10 PM   #1

Hi. I'm new to digital photography and trying to get to grips with Adobe Elements ver 3.0.

When I use "Replace colour" all I get is grey. It doesn't replace with the colour selected.

What am I doing wrong?

I'm desperate for an answer as I have a pretty much B & W shot that I need to adjust the blacks to ablue.

Thanks
John_Digital is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 10, 2005, 10:37 AM   #2

Got to the Elements Forum at Adobe.com. I guarantee you'll get an answer in 10 minutes. Some of the best Photoshop and Elements professionals and authors, frequent this board and readily give sage advice.
GovtLawyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2005, 11:09 AM   #3

It sounds like you are trying to replace colour in a greyscale image.

The tools you wish to use only work in full colour modes.

What you need to do is switch the colour mode back to RGB from greyscale.

Go to, Image/Mode and check RGB.

Now you can use Replace Colour from the Enhance menu or the Colour Replacement tool.

If that doesn't work, come back.
Stevekin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2005, 11:36 AM   #4

I may have given the wrong impression. This happens in full colour piccies as well.
Old Oct 12, 2005, 10:55 AM   #5

With me being colour blind :roll:, I tend to shy away from any colour corrections or replacements, and consequently, I am unsure of this problem.

I've tried myself with changing the modes available to the tool, ensuring the image is in RGB mode as well.

I find it doesn't seem to like painting some colours onto black or very nearly black areas and presume this is due to a lack of information in those areas, meaning it is difficult to replace colour where there is none in the first place. (I may be wrong).