Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Editors (Photoshop, Vegas, Final Cut Pro, Kdenlive, etc.)

Old Jan 5, 2006, 6:44 AM   #1

I'm wondering how to replace color in Photoshop (CS2). I know there's a tool in the Image/Adjustments dropdown, but it's rather confusing.

I wonder if there'sa simple way to swap color. Meaning, can I change the color of my T-shirt in a photo fromblack to white, etc?
Boldstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 5, 2006, 11:48 PM   #2

See you still don't have an answer. I have very little experience with photoshop. I played around with version 5.5 a few years back, but that was about it. However, I just happen to have the CS2 trial version so I opened it up and looked a bit. I found probably the standard way to do it, but realize there are other ways depending on your situation.

Open Image>adjustments>replace color

When you do that, you'll get a dialogue box and at the top you'll see three eye-dropper looking things with the far left one selected by default. That's what you want selected (if you hover, it's actually called "eyedropper"). Then, hover your cursor over the color you want to change in your image and left click to select it. If you look back over at the dialogue box, you'll see the color you clicked appears in a window at the top.

The fuzziness slider in the middle of the dialogue box appears effect the range of colors effected by the color change. So if you slide it down to zero, you only change the pixels that exactly match the place you clicked to select the color above. If you slide it to the right, it seems to broaden the range to include lighter and darker shades of that same color.

At the bottom (in the "replacement" square) is where you tell it what color you want it to change to. You can use the sliders, but it's probably normally easier to click on the color square and then either use the color selection box that appears or left click a color in your image.