Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Editors (Photoshop, Vegas, Final Cut Pro, Kdenlive, etc.)

Old Jan 21, 2006, 8:02 AM   #1

hi there,

I'm pretty new to Digital photography.

I have a minolta dimage 7 camera and I just bought one of these 'light cubes' with daylight lamps.

I want to photgraph some items, which arecontained in polythene bags, and then, using Paintshop convert the images to GIF's showing the surrounding are as 'transparent'.

The problem is, is that whichever wayI highlight and mark the transparent areas the edges of the polythene bag dissapear as part of the transparent area.

I experimented using Black backdrop behind the bags which then makes it easy to remove the background, but then the background of the actual product in the bag is also black which is not very nice.

I have also experimented with numerous parameters of the camera but haven't found any settings that help.

Has anyone got any 'tips or tricks' that might help me here?

Cheers,

Bill.
bill7718 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 21, 2006, 4:06 PM   #2

why don't you go ahead and post a shot or two of what it is that you are attempting to

do, bill.

your explanation isn't quite enough.

posting a shot is easy.

shrink your image size down to about 600 X 600 pixels, save as a copy (when you save

it, make sure that it is below 230 k), hit the browse button on "post reply" (with an

explanation of the shot) and hit send.

hopefully i or someone else can help you with your delemma.

scot

E.S. Crawford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2006, 6:30 PM   #3

Hey, Bill....I agree with Scot. I can't quite get a handle on your problem from just the written information. If you just want to raise image contrast, there are many ways to do it. Maybe the way that gives you the most control is to use the Curves tool and put in a shallow "S" curve. But try to post a pic.

Grant
granthagen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2006, 6:33 PM   #4