Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Fujifilm dSLR

Old Jul 26, 2011, 3:49 PM   #1

Default HS 20 EXR. Complete Noob , need your help.

I bought this camera because I play and watch alot of sport at local clubs in the uk.

I wanted to be able to take action shots of rugby and cricket and I have got the camera home and started to play.

I have got my girlfriend to do a few cartwheels to take some continuous pic but I am disapointed how much bluring there is with action photos.

I have gone to SP1 and selected 'Sport' but still blurry, any ideas?
frenchie851 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 28, 2011, 12:41 PM   #2

Do you have Continuous Focus turned on? Also to be honest the HS20 is a not a sports camera. For what you said you want a D-SLR is your best bet

dave
Photo 5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2011, 6:01 PM   #3

G'day Frenchie

Lots of things here mate -
Your camera is a well designed "general-purpose" camera and as P5 says above "the HS20 is a not a sports camera" - but that's okay for you as I guess that hi-speed sports stuff is not [yet] your thing

So what can you do?
ok- to successfully get moving subjects you need 2 things, a) a high shutter speed and b) good focus

To achieve this there is several things you can do to get it -
1- set ISO to 400 or maybe 800 [rather than 100 which is good for day-to-day images] - although 800 might give you a bit of 'noise' which looks a bit spotty in the images
2- set the camera to 'sports' mode OR to "S" shutter speed mode then choose 1/500 second or 1/1000 second
3- set the camera to burst [top of camera button- looks like 3 sheets of paper], then choose "Top-6"

Get your subject to jump around or something like that - cartwheels are nice but not always needed- and shoot your 6 images in qwik succession

As you examine them, select the best of the bunch and keep / print that one, delete those that are not needed as 'keepers'