Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Dec 29, 2006, 4:24 PM   #1

Hi. I am new to DSLR. I just got my stuff. Photo Studio and Fuji S1 Pro

I know it has the feature to customize the white balance but i dont know how.
I can take it to the WB option. Under the White Ballance, i pick custom. Now from Custom, how do i set the white ballance to" -1" or others. Any help is appreciated a lot.
Kidd is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 3, 2007, 1:14 PM   #2

I'm sure others will correct me if I am wrong, as I am not a DSLR owner, but I have never heard of white balance is terms of "-1". Usually, to set white balance you focus the camera on a white card or piece of paper, and that will help the camera adjust to unusual lighting conditions.

Exposure compensation (EV) can be quantified in terms of "1" or "-1", and is often done in steps of 1/3. So, as an expample, you can have EV settings of -2, -1 2/3, -1 1/3, -1, -2/3, -1/3, 0, +1/3, +2/3, +1, +1 1/3, +1 2/3, +2.
flippedgazelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2007, 7:09 PM   #3

I hopeno one is laughing:d. Remember i said i was rookie. There u go.
Thats probably what happend . No one comes with it. We all learn so it was good i asked. Its confusing though. But i am picking it up little by little.
This setting i am out to post is what got me into this. I saw this portrait shot at PBase which was shot with the Fuji s1, and it was great shot and i tried to copy the '[glow=navy]exif[/glow]' Which was like this:

Full EXIF Info

Date/Time: 28-Jul-2004 13:08:54

Make: FujiFilm

Model: FinePixS1Pro

Flash Used: No

Focal Length: 35 mm

Exposure Time: 1/108 sec

Aperture: f/13.4

ISO Equivalent: 320

Exposure Bias

White Balance: (-1)

Metering Mode: center weighted (2)

JPEG Quality: (6)

Exposure Program: manual (1)

Focus Distance

See how the White Balance is (-1)
And Manual (1)
and Center weighted (2)