Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Mar 17, 2007, 10:19 AM   #1

I just wanted to know what is the impact of the chip on the printed pictures.
Is there a difference in the prints between these two Fuji models (s6000 and s9100) and what is it?
Also, what is the biggest (good quality) print you can get from these cameras?

I am asking this, because I want to byu one of these cameras and hopefully be able to make prints up to A4 format or even 10x15 inches. If it is possible.
I want to know if there is a difference between a 6mp and a 9mp camera. Maybe the noise problem at high ISO in the s9100 makes them a not so good option for printing images. Or the extra 3mp makes them better for daylight pictures and equal for low light pictures.

Thank you for the help

p.s. I know that to some people this might sound like a stupid question, but I am an amateur and to me there is no sence to buy the more expensive camera (although it has 3mp more if it produces the same quality in print).
vokoko is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 17, 2007, 3:05 PM   #2

It is not a stupid question at all. Everyone wants the assurance that they will be able to use the camera for their intended purpose. Unfortunately, I cannot answer your question directly because I have never handled the 6000. The two cameras that I have are the older Fuji 5100 (4 MP) and the Fuji 9000, the predecessor of the 9100 that you are asking about.

Kodak Easyshare, a pretty good online processor where you can order prints, says that to print 20x30 inch prints they require an image that is at least 1200x1600 pixels. That means they require an image that is at least two megapixels in size. I have had them print a 20x30 inch print from another five megapixel camera, and it turned out quite well. So either one of these cameras that you are considering will produce the size images that you want.