Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Aug 4, 2012, 8:37 AM   #1
Default HS20EXR external flash

Hi all,

I am looking into extending my photography with an external flash. I have never used one before and have a limited budget.

Has anyone had any success with Yongnuo external flash units on an HS20EXR. I am particularly interested in TTL models.

If you use a manual flash, which one, any how tricky is it to get exposure right. I don't want to hold up family events with "wait a minute, I want to try that one again...groan!"

Thanks in advance for any help.
wheresmylaptop is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 4, 2012, 4:33 PM   #2

G'day mate

Firstly - welcome to Steve's, you'll find everyone here to be a great bunch and easy with offering assistance

I own 3x Y-460 manual / slave flashes
Mostly they are used as a slave flash fired off by the camera's flash, set to minimum flash-power, and in a lounge-room sized studio environment

For the $50-odd they cost, I would say 'get one' and learn how to go with it
You have 8-LEDs on the back for power setting - start at the half-way mark and give more or less as you experiment. You will soon find your flash's comfort zone and after that it's eazy-peazy

I know that others around you will probably say to get the full $$ maker's flashgun - and 'yes' these will do all sorts of things for you but at quite an expense > I suggest you start small and if/when yoiu want to do more, the Y460 will still be there as a 2nd very useful flashgun

Regards, Phil
Has Fuji & Lumix superzoom cameras and loves their amazing capabilities
Google me at Travelling School of Photography Australia
Recent images at http://www.flickr.com/photos/ozzie_traveller/sets/
Ozzie_Traveller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2012, 2:41 AM   #3

That's a great help thanks.