Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Jun 5, 2005, 8:49 PM   #1

Ok I bought a Fuji S5100 the other day and I love it but I am still sort of confused when it comes to shutter speed and apature, can someone give me an example of what settings would be required for say a waterfall where in one photo the water appears moving but the other it appears still? I'm not talking about Niagara Falls for a waterfall either but we came across a small falls today and despite playing around with the settings I could not get it right

Any help would be appreciated, I'm sure if I got the general idea of what to do I'll be fine
leeanne172 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 6, 2005, 10:30 AM   #2

I have the same camera but I've not had it long and I'm no expert with the settings. You can adjust the shutter speed so I would imagine the slower you make the shutter speed the more the water would have a blurry/moving look. The sport mode would be good for a fast capture of the scene without any look of movement, I think.
bred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2005, 2:34 PM   #3

You can shoot water with a slow shutter speed to make the dreamlike blur of the flow or shoot it with a fast shutter speed to make it frozen in time. To some extent its a matter of personal preference, as for me, I like the blurred effect.
It depends on how close you are and how fast the water is moving, but generally you need somewhere between 1/4 of a second to 1/15 of a second. Slower than this and water tends to look more like plastic and less like water, faster than this and you get more of the frozen effect than anything else.
Use a tripod to be sure you get no motion from you. Take lots of pictures, try different shutter speeds. If there is lots of white water, you may want to go +.5 or so on your +- setting.

ericsvendsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2005, 4:09 PM   #4