Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Jul 16, 2005, 12:45 PM   #1

Hello all,

Newbie here!

I just got the S5100 about a week ago. I think i got a good deal on it, i got the camera, a telephoto lens, a wide angle lens, 3 filter lens back, a nylon padded case, full size tripod, 256 meg card, cleaning kit, 55mm adapter ring, rechargeable batteries and a charger for 419.00 plus shipping.

anyway, I am looking to go a small shoot for a friend of mines daughters. They want to get into modeling but the $$$ to get professional photos done isn't there. The asked me to help because i have experience in video, the wanted me to do the stills.

I've been reading everything i can on still photography, but i still need help. they are wanting to do a shoot on the beach, i live in Florida. I, personally, don't have the funds to throw around for lights and shades and whatnot.

Is there cheap ways to get some of the stuff needed? like i seen an article on making a remote shutter controller for the camera. I'll be making one soon

Is there more how-to's for a poor photographer?

vanklagg is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 17, 2005, 8:18 PM   #2

I can't help you but the only thing I have done in the past with beach pictures or when I wanted to pictures of my kids at the pool for "team portait" I did it on over cast days. Not beatiful sonny days. You had less glare and didn't have to deal with squinting, shadows etc....

Good luck! I have the same camera and have gotten some really good shots!
spinning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2005, 3:22 PM   #3