Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Feb 20, 2003, 8:48 PM   #1
Default Picture quality without software enhancements...

I was just wondering, has anyone gotten really good quality pictures from the s602 without any software enhancements? Granted I'm still new to the whole digital thing, but when I think I have taken a good picture, I hit the Auto quick fix button and wow, what a difference. It always looks so much better. Is that what digital is all about? You get a medioker picture and rely on the software? ( I guess I should be greatful it's available). I don't know, I just thought I would toss it out there and see what you all think.

Thanks for your time,

futbol mom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 21, 2003, 2:39 PM   #2

Auto fix makes judgements about brightness, contrast and sharpness, which may not be like the original scene. These are often not 'fixes' as such, the software just assumes all pictures must have certain average brightness and contrast levels else the camera did it wrong! This is not always true, but if you like every pic to be consistent then that becomes your preference.

One thing I am finding is the 602 tends to slightly under expose. For me that's fine, I know I've got a bit more in hand and the whites are less likely to come out clipped.

Have you had any pics printed by Walmart yet? I've taken pics straight off the camera, shooting auto and they look great! Compare the Histograms before and after auto fix and you will see what the software is doing. Auto processing can introduce distortions which you may not notice on smaller prints.

It's very similar with TV's. Most people turn up the colour, brightness and contrast - the software is just responding to general expectation. If you shoot on a dull day you can remove reality and replace it with a 'new look' If you like auto fix - stick with it. Use it on some scenes like night shots and you might be disapointed.