Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Jan 4, 2006, 1:02 AM   #1

Hi! I am new to this forum and would just like to ask a quick question. I am a begineer photographer and was looking at the S5200 which sells for a relatively cheap price here in Canada. While looking I saw a person selling a used S5100 camera with 256Mb XD, 3 filters, wide angle lense, and 2x Zoom lense, and 8 rechargable batteries. Just wondering which is a good deal?

- $460(Canadian - includes taxes)
- brand new with 1 yr warrenty
- no memory card, will be additional $50 for 512MB XD.
- much better ISO selection, lower noise, antiblur, natural lighting mode

- $350(Canadian - no need to pay taxes as its used)
- used with under 1 yr left on warrenty
- 256MB XD card
- filters
- wide angle lense
- 2x Zoom lense
- 8 rechargable batteries

Which is better? Any input would be appreciated. THANKS ALL.
sfu_engineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 4, 2006, 9:44 AM   #2

That is a rather difficult choice to have to make. I purchased a 5100 last year and took it to Alaska on a vacation. We were all very pleased with the pictures that we got. I don't know that the extra megapixel count will make much of a difference in the 5200, but the noise reduction, higher ISO settings, and the RP technology might make a slight difference in some of your pictures. But in my opinion you would not go wrong with either one of the cameras.
jphess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2006, 7:52 PM   #3

To answer your first question, I don't think either one is a good deal. The S5200 @ $460 CAD is about equal to $400 USD. I can buy a S5200 from Dell for $319.20 USD, and I have a Dell 10% coupon, which would bring that down to $287.28 USD...come to think of it, I may have a 15% coupon here someplace...hmmm...Anyway, I think if you shop around a little, you can do better on that price.