Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Nov 2, 2006, 5:48 PM   #1

Hi everyone, I was hoping to get some basic tips on photographing people. In this case I've been asked to photograph a singingQuartet (not during a performance). I only ever really take nature and landscapes and I'm a novice at that too. I just need some basic tips on shooting people, like height arrangement, hair colour (if that matters)and a whole heap of other stuff that i cant think of but is probably important. What are the basics? They're friends and i just want to do a decent job of it. I really have no idea so any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance,

Azp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 2, 2006, 8:11 PM   #2

To me the most important thing is the lighting. The better your lighting the better your chances of a great shot. If you don't have lights; outside is a good place to try for a group shot.About an hourbefore dark or on any overcast day.
goldtop1122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2006, 9:47 AM   #3

1. Trust your instincts. If you're a good photographer, it will carry over to anything you decide to shoot.

2. Don't over think things. Again, trust your instincts.

3. Study other people's work on-line. Then ask questions of them.

4. Buy a book on shooting people.

5. Practice. Practice. Practice.Find a friend(s) or family member(s) and try out a bunch of different things. If you can't find another warm body use your self timer and shoot you (most of the practice photos I've taken have been of myself - maybe 5,000 shots at this point.) If you don't want to shoot yourself, put some clothes on a coat rack or light stand or go buy a manequin.
24Peter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2006, 10:38 PM   #4

I hope I'm not too late.