Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Dec 9, 2006, 3:34 AM   #1

This is not the first time I have found myself in discussion with 35mm purists yet the discussions always seem to go down similar paths . . .

The discussions typically go along these lines:
  • 35mm purist - digital does not require the same understanding of true photography;[/*]
  • Myview is that it does. Having transitioned from years of photography with a rather decent (Nikon 2020) 35mm to digital, I view both as recording instruments. Additionally, I find the learning curve with the digital similar to what I remember it being with the 35mm;[/*]
  • 35mm purist - you do not have the darkroom control and experience of developing your own negatives;[/*]
  • My view: Having never had a darkroom I have no 1st hand knowledge to adequately address this. From my simplistic view, utilizing PhotoShop and iMatch is both my "darkroom" and filing system. Since the storage and proper (legal) disposal of the developing chemicals is rather controlled, that makes believe they contain certain environmental hazards (no firsthand basis for this);[/*]
  • 35mm purist - digital is too easily used to produce what wasn't there where as 35mm is less so;[/*]
  • My view: There exist technologies enabling digital photographers to do customize many things from their digital files. To a certain extent you are doing the same with various developing techniques. I do not look at the use of PhotoShop to be an abuse but rather a tool to enhance and/or make mistakes. The latter is correctable so it allows me more freedoms.[/*]

• [/*]
  • Debates are always nice yet the typical 35mm purist I have so far encountered relies on telling of their superior knowledge of their process.
Is there a reason that one way (digital vs. 35mm) is superior to the other or is it similar to debating the slide rule vs. the electronic calculator?
BrierS is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links