Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jan 25, 2007, 3:06 AM   #1

Product Reviews – Is it a question of professional honesty ?

I am a new member. An engineer by profession. Though not new to photography, but new to digital photography. I still use my old Minolta SLR. To enter into the field of Digital Photography, recently bought a Canon (right or wrong) and am trying to decide about a decent photo printer. Been through the product reviews of various professionally acclaimed web sites like cnet, Pcmag, Pcworld, phot-i, dpreviews, pcauthority, etc, etc and also this site, for the last one month or so. Have I made my decision ? The answer is a big NO. It is not because I am a poor decision maker but because of serious disagreements among the product reviews. Is this difference of opinion a professional disagreement or is it more than that. Choosing the right printer is no more an issue. The main issue for this thread is to answer a fundamental question ‘Are we professionally honest' ? To elucidate the case I would use Photo Printers as a case in point. Towards this end, following may be interesting (I may not mention the review sites these can be found with little effort on the web):-

1. HP's Photo Smart printers 8250, D7000 series, 3110 share the same print engine, same ink cartridges, same resolution, same printing head technology. I have physically seen their prints. The are of the same quality. However, 8250 reviewed on one site equates its photo quality to high end professional photo printers whereas in another review a D7000 series printer has been degraded to the lowest quality levels.
2. Epson R210 which is a previous model of R230 and is one of the entry level printer, has been equated to high end professional printers like Canon i990 (which is a medium carriage version of i9900), whereas R230 at another web site has been grade to have average photo print quality.