Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Feb 22, 2007, 2:28 PM   #1

I'm a newbie, but I know there are numrous ways to makephotographs containing the same things. You can move towards it untill only the things you want in yourphoto is within the camera's field of view, or you can take the photo from a distance and zoom towards the scene or choose to crop it later. Depending on the point of view and how you crop, the scenes perspective will be different.

I would guess most of you guess consider this when taking photos. How do you handle perspective? When cropping pictures, do you make sure keep the picture cenetered on the camaras original focus or do you try to avoid cropping/zooming?

I've attached a picture to show what i mean by different perspectives.
Attached Images
Dhaerow is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 22, 2007, 3:53 PM   #2

I try to get the shot framed right on the camera. I have a 6MP Nikon D50, so for poster size prints, it doesn't provide as much crop room as 10MP or higher. Also, getting it right in-camera, whether exposure or composition is a good practice.

But cropping and zooming is unavoidable. I'm not a purist, so I crop when needed, and zoom when I want to. For cropping, I crop-out the stuff I don't like, it doesn't matter if it's centered or not (usually not). I also digitally remove stuff I don't like. I mean, if painters can paint a scene and omit distracting powerlines, if they want to, why can't I?

I do watch for vertical lines on the sides that bends. I try to avoid or correct them, unless I want to emphasis curvature. They look good in certain occasions, but rarely.

For landscape shooting, I like using a wide angle lens to make the foreground much larger that it is compared to the backgroung:

I also like backing up a bit and then zooming-in to make the background bigger than it would compared to the foreground (think silhouette of a wolf on a full moon).