Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jul 17, 2003, 1:24 PM   #1
Default more important--higher optical zoom or higher megapixels?

I'm switching between the Canon G3 and the Olympus c5050. I have compared everything about the two, but one thing is causing me to go back and forth. Is it better to have the higher megapixels or the higher optical zoom? This will be my first digital camera. I'm not a pro but I am not completely inexperienced in photography either. Diving into the digital world is a bit overwhelming. :?
picture taker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 17, 2003, 1:34 PM   #2

It depends a great deal on your shooting style and pereferences vis a vis telephoto or wide angle.

The longer zoom can compensate nicely for the loss of resolution but only when you are using the long end of the spectrum. If you feel you would spend more time using a telephoto then you will not be able to make up the deficit with higher resolution. Let me give you an example. I shoot a good deal of wild life and have numerous sDLR's ranging from the Canon D30 through the Canon 1DS. A good example is this - when I put my 50-500mm zoom on my 1DS I get full frame 11.1 megapixel images at 500mm. When I put the same lens on my 10D I get the "equivalent" of 800mm - or as if I were shooting the 1DS using an 800mm lens in terms of field of view.

The entire six megapixels is vested within this reduced field of view, so were I to crop my 1DS to the same field of view of my 10D, I would end up with only a bit more than 4 megapixels of the 11 used within that 1.6x reduced field of view.

Let's look at a 2 megapixel Olympus C2100UZ with a 10X optical stabilized zoom and compare it with a 5 megapixel Sony DCS-717 which has a 5x optical and 2x digital zoom. Even zoomed to the full 10X (optical plus digital zoom) the Sony gives up about 20 percent in terms of pixel count to the Olympus with it's full 10X optical zoom.