Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jul 18, 2003, 6:02 PM   #1
Default Apple iPod as a portable hard drive backup?

I'm leaving in a couple of weeks on a one-year backpacking sabbatical around the world, and I need a backup system for my compact flash cards (I’m a freelance photographer and just made the switch to digital photography. My equipment includes an Olympus C-5050Z and (6) 512 Mb compact flash cards, and I estimate it will take me one or two weeks to fill up that many compact flash cards during my travels). I'm going to very remote places (Kyrgyzstan, Afghanistan, Namibia, etc), and I need a VERY lightweight backup system, preferably one that can be powered by disposable batteries (AA's) if necessary. I’ll burn CD’s when I get to major cities and have the opportunity—but I need to assume that I may go as long as a month without having access to AC power or a computer when I’m in the “outback.”

I've read a lot about the Digibin, X-drive, Nixvue, Delkin Picture Pad, Image Tank, Tripper, etc, but they all take proprietary rechargeable batteries, and are larger than I prefer.

However, I checked out the 30 GB apple iPod (http://www.apple.com/ipod/beyondmusic.html) and not only is it extremely small and lightweight (6 oz.), but you can also buy a AA battery adapter and USB connector cable for it. So, does anyone know if I would be able to plug my Olympus C5050 into the iPod via the USB connection and download my JPEG images to it? If anyone has any suggestions (or other ideas), I would be extremely grateful. Thanks.

(Another simple, but expensive option is for me to just buy another (6) 512 Mb compact flash cards, which should [I hope] last me long enough between cities where I have the opportunity to burn CDs.)
CliffinOregon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 18, 2003, 6:40 PM   #2

I don't think a digital camera can interface with an iPod, I could be wrong though.

Another note about traveling;