Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Aug 21, 2003, 11:09 AM   #1
Default [b][u]Nikon Coolprix repair in Boston?[/[/u]b]

Hi, everybody!!
I have a problem with my Nikon Coolprix 4300 and in S.K. Grimes camera Repair the price for repair is 135 for labor and 20 for parts. It seems to me not perfect ratio. So, can anyone advice the other places in Boston for digital cameras repair? Or this price is OK? I have no experience in this area Thanks a lot in advance for any useful infomation.
katya is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 21, 2003, 11:15 PM   #2

As someone who used to do repairs, it's not unusual. You have to consider that a camera is a complex instrument and they have to not only replace the part, then they'd clean the camera plus fully test the camera (depending on the nature of the repair it can take a while).

If you want a comparison of the rate, suggest you contact Nikon and see how much they'd charge.
Mike_PEAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2003, 12:48 PM   #3

Realize that the camera was made in a non-1st world country where they paid the workers very little (and a lot of the process was done my machines.) It wasn't built by a person with the same level of technica skill as the person who would do the repair. Also reparing is very different than building.

Labor costs are expensive. This is why many people buy better modern replacements for something when it breaks. It's a pity, but the cost of labor can make it not worth repairing.