Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Aug 21, 2003, 12:16 PM   #1
Default Digicam Convert’s Thoughts and Dilemma

This spring, after thirty years of shooting Canon SLRs, I purchased a Coolpix 5000. Now with almost six months of digital shooting under my belt, I’m hooked – good and proper. I can’t imagine ever going back to film, but I suppose like many of you, I’m struggling with what to do next.

I’m a relatively good amateur photographer—not great. No delusions there, but fairly decent. I got hooked on SLR’s back in the early 70’s with a used Canon FTB and two or three lenses—I still look at the photos from those years with great fondness. Then in the early 80’s a thief did me a favor when he helped himself to all my camera gear from the trunk of my car. I made the one and only insurance claim in my life, and ended up with a whole new system—EOS-650, a half-dozen EF lens, flash, filter sets, tripod, carry-case—everything. Gawd, I couldn’t believe how wonderful it all was.

A couple of years ago, my company gave me a cheap Kodak digital of some kind, for road trips. I took it begrudgingly. I’ve used CorelDraw and PhotoPaint for years, and as I worked with these mediocre field shots, I began to appreciate the potential of digital images. This spring, after considerable research, I bought the Coolpix 5000.