Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Oct 13, 2003, 10:16 PM   #1
Default Which one to buy S5000 or Coolpix 4300

Hi everyone,

Im in a limbo on deciding what to buy. I have decided on either Fuji Finepix s5000 or Nikon Coolpix 4300. First I will explain my requirements and then tell a bit on what I think about these cool digital cams. Any feedback and opinions is appreciated as it would help me a lot in zeroing in on one I would buy.

Before you ppl dive into the long and boring message I would like to tell u that im no pro in photography and dont intend to become one.!!

Requirements: I would be using the camera for mostly scenic and architectural shots (70%), portraits (25%), macros(5%). I wont be printing most of the things and the images would be mostly on my comp, enroute cables as smtp packets or on webserver where i will host my site (I dont know when that day will come). Now comming to the other factor - around 80% of the shots will be outdoors and around 20% indoors. around 75% being during day time and around 25% at night.

Now my usual likes and dislikes - I prefer manual settings unless it is very urgent. Most of the time (at least 60-65%) of the time i plan to use manual mode. I am not a great fan of flash photography and like to do it without flash during night (ehhh!! I feel like cursing the guys who designed s5000). But!! I will also have a Nikon N65 or an FM2 (pro's dont laugh!!) using which I think I can take care of the night shots (though it would be uncomfortable if i get s5000).

Now the pros and cons of these 2 models.