Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jul 21, 2009, 9:22 PM   #1
Default Filters - a novice's necessity? Which?

I'm heading off to Hawaii for my honeymoon in a couple weeks, and I have a new Panasonic FZ-28 I'm excited to put to the test. I'm a complete novice, and I'm looking at whether or not it would be a good purchase to pick up a couple of filters that seem to work really well with the camera; however, I'm not sure if it's worth the expense in regards to (a) my likelihood to leave the camera in auto a lot for quick shooting and only sometimes get to really experiment with the dramatic scenery and (b) the time it takes to get filters on and off, and whether this is an investment of just a quick screw-on-screw-off like the lens cap or a hurry-up-and-wait a little longer (as can be the case with the lens hood).

Anyway, the thing that most catches my eye is a Tiffen 46mm 3-pack that I found on Adorama and Amazon - a "photo essentials filter kit" - that includes a UV filter, a circular polarizer, and a "warming filter". I also looked at the neutral density 0.6 filter, because one review said it's "great for waterfalls", but that's sold separately. Is the effect that any or all of these filters would have on a novice worth the expense? Is there a better set (still within this price range) that I can get? Can I buy two of the three from the set individually and also buy the ND filter, if one of the "set' ones is superfluous? Finally, I think the kit thing comes with a "filter wallet" - will this fit easily in my case that snugly houses the camera, hood, and extra battery? And, if I don't get the kit but buy separately, do I also need such a wallet?

Sorry for the bunch of questions... hopefully they can be consolidated easily! I appreciate any quick answers, since I need to order them and get them on the way as soon as I can!

stckfigure is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 22, 2009, 12:01 AM   #2