Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Dec 16, 2009, 11:47 AM   #1

Default Why is looking through a viewfinder a big deal?

I'm just wondering. As a novice, I have always found looking at the screen sufficient, since I will likely be cropping a bit here and there. Ever since cameras have had screens, I can't ever recall using a viewfinder.

I ask because 4/3 cameras like the GF1 seem so much more attractive than a full out DSLR.

Why does it matter to see what the camera lens sees?
pnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 16, 2009, 12:54 PM   #2

Hey PNut;

For me, a DSLR shooter, my hands are much more steady when looking through the view finder, than when holding the camera away from me so I can look at the screen.

Camera movement, camera shake, camera vibration are three easy ways to turn a great shot into trash because it makes shots blurry.

To show you how much I hate camera movement, my most favorite method of shooting is with a tripod, using a remote shutter release, turning image stabilization off, and using mirror lock and shooting at the fastest shutter speed possible if there is a possibility of my subject moving.

If I'm handholding my camera. I like to shoot in portrait orientation (as opposed to landscape orientation) because in portrait orientation, I can rest my wrist on the top of my head and my hands are more steady than if I hold the camera normally.

I've had it with throwing potentially great shots in the trash can because they are blurry due to movement. Hate it hate it hate it.

I think this rule is correct, the sharper your equipment is, the more it exposes any movement of the lens.

But, hey, I'm not the best person to listen to on this. Hopefully more experienced photographers will chime in for you.

Faithfully yours,
FP

Last edited by FaithfulPastor; Dec 16, 2009 at 1:06 PM.
FaithfulPastor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2009, 12:58 PM   #3