Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Dec 4, 2003, 2:21 PM   #1
Default Do I need 5 mp?

I am trying to find a digital camera to buy. I am a student and I just want to use it for casual pictures and picutres for my engagement and wedding. I really like the idea of having a black and white option but I realize I can always just make pics black and white in photoshop. I am looking at the Kodak easyshare DX 4530 5.0 mp. My question is if I really need that many megapixels. I like the features some other cameras have but seem to think if I can get more (mp) for my money I should forfit some other features. I just don't know if I really need 5 or if 3.1 or 3.2 would do everything I need it to. I just want clear pictures that look like they are from a good camera..I dont forsee making them any bigger than 8x10 or really 5.7. If you have any suggestions let me know THanks!
naycon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 4, 2003, 3:11 PM   #2

By the time you buy a charger and batteries the Minolta G500 would come out to about the same price or less. The Minolta comes with battery and charger. It is a better camera for the price IMO. And more portable so you would have it with you more. There are also more user modes for you to grow into. A digital camera is a great learning tool and you shouldn’t limit yourself to point and shoot. Plan on having to purchase a 256Mb SD card for either. I would pay a few extra bucks and go with someone reliable like Digital Photo Club: http://www1.dealtime.com/xPC-Minolta..._G500~S-6~PG-1 Steve’s review: http://www.steves-digicams.com/2003_...mage_g500.html

I wouldn’t give up features I wanted for an extra Mp, but it is nice to have the extra pixels. Since those photos will be your lifetime memories I don’t think it the best approach to base the decision purely on current needs. You can generally crop more and blow an image up more with more pixels.
slipe is offline   Reply With Quote