Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Dec 22, 2003, 1:16 PM   #1
Default What Quality (JPEG compression) setting do you use?

Question: what "quality" (jpeg compression) setting do you normally use?

I just bought a Minolta Dimage Z1, 3.2 Mpixel 10x optical zoom camera. I plan leave it at highest res (2048x1532), but I wonder how much I'd lose by using the "standard" quality setting instead of "fine". FWIW, approximate file sizes according to the manufacturer are 1.1 MB for "fine", 720 KB for "standard", 430 KB for "economy".

I'm an amateur, although I've used SLR's for 30 years. The pictures are mostly snapshots -- family events, vacations, etc, for which I mostly print as 4x6 or 5x7. But of course you never know when you're gonna capture the picture of a lifetime and want to blow it up large.

The reasons for going higher compression are twofold -- to get more pictures on my 256 MB card is helpful; but mostly it's because I generally upload my pictures to Kodak for printing, and my net connection is a dialup on which I get 28.8 kbaud on a good day (I live in the boonies). It takes quite a while to upload a set of pictures!

So, what do most folks use for the "quality" setting? I know the pros will use high quality or even raw, but what about the rest of us snapshot takers?
Blues is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 22, 2003, 1:30 PM   #2

I use the highest quality for most of my shots. A lower resolution would not caused much detoriation as long as your printing the size prints you stated. It would make them easier to upload because the file size would be reduced.
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2003, 1:47 PM   #3