Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Dec 25, 2003, 7:59 PM   #1
Default Greetings from Ireland.

Hi all,
This is my first post here. As a quick introduction, I am an amateur/enthusiast from Ireland and have been using a Cannon EOS 500N SLR for the last 5 years and have just bought a Cannon Powershot G3.

Now for my few questions if I may..

I've been dragged into the digital world kicking and screaming.........Will I get the same or better results from my new digital camera as my old SLR?

I think I'll probably need a new printer. I have a Lexmark Z52 and results seem to be good but not as good as it looks on screen. If I'm going to purchase a new printer what model should I look at in a mid priced one.

Many thanks for any help...
Mac1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 25, 2003, 9:02 PM   #2
Default Welcome

You will enjoy digital photography and if you are like most of us learn from it. Also like many, I use both digital and film and I especially like slides. As for printers look closely to the ink and paper costs in your area. Good results can be obtained from most of the name brand printers and if you can afford it go for a wide format printer. I only print large sizes occasionally but when you have an especially nice photo the big print is "photagraphers heaven"
normc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2003, 9:42 PM   #3
Default HP 6110

I use a HP 6110 all in one. It prints excellent photos on HP Photo paper up to 8X10. It also faxes, copies and scans so I can get those old prints scanned and add them to my digital collection.
hst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2003, 5:55 AM   #4

Thanks for the prompt answers to my questions.
Now I have one more. I'm really impressed with my G3 so far although the time it takesto auto focus annoys me a little.