Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old May 30, 2011, 8:06 PM   #1

Default Megazooms - how much zoom is too much?

I am a novice photogrpher - I like taking pictures during trips to share with family. I just returned from a 14-day repositioning cruise from Seattle to Juneau onboard a 70 foot yacht on which I had to rely on my Sony DSC-T70 with only 3x zoom for all my photos and videos. Our encounters with humpback whales, orcas, dall's porpoises and many other wildlife have left me wanting for a better camera for any future travels.

Over the last two days, I've researched Compact Zoom (12x to 18x) and Extended/Mega Zoom (24x to 36x) cameras on several web sites and am wondering if there is too much zoom available on some of the mega zoom cameras.
Specifically my questions are:
1. At what zoom level would one be unable to hold the camera steady enough to take either video or photos without affecting the results?
2. At what zoom level would one need to use either a monopod or a tripod? I ask because I notice that when I use my 12x binoculars, it can be difficult to remain steady without leaning on something fixed.
3. What types of situations would require zoom above about 16X?
4. If I am mainly interested in auto capability photography of wildlife, are there valid reasons to go into the mega zoom range versus staying in the compact travel zoom category?

Budget is not an issue but I also do not want to go into the DSLR category as I do not want to haul that much gear around. Being recently retired and only a novice photographer, I'm not sure how many new tricks this old dog is capable of learning at this stage so I doubt I'll be using the manual features on many of the newer megazooms.

Thanks in advance for your feedback.
Dave

Last edited by SHS72ski; May 30, 2011 at 8:10 PM. Reason: Improve readability.
SHS72ski is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 30, 2011, 9:02 PM   #2