Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Nov 17, 2011, 4:53 PM   #1
Default exact depth of sharpness

hello, i am new to digicams!

i want to learn how to make pictures with a low depth of sharpness. so only the face from my model (Susi), a few centimeters backwards all is blurish.
see example picture attached.

how can i do this?
do i need a special lens or can i do this with an olympus model Pen-Lite Ebl3 with lens 14-42mm or lens 40-150mm.
Attached Images
dexfoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 17, 2011, 5:19 PM   #2

There are a number of things you can do to get a shallow Depth of Field.

The easiest is to use as large an aperture as possible. With the two lenses you mentioned, that won't actually get you very far. Another is to position your subject so that the background is far away. The farther away it is, the more out of focus it will be. Lastly, get as close as possible to your subject. That will increase the relative distance between the subject and the background.
  • The lens is the thing.
  • 'Full Frame' is the new 'Medium Format'.
  • "One good test is worth a thousand expert opinions." - Tex Johnston, Boeing 707 test pilot.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2011, 2:32 AM   #3

oh, so its not about the cam, its more about the lens. the lens should let in a lot of light.

does someone know which (affordable) lens would fit to my cam to realise this or which specification the lens needs to do this?
dexfoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2011, 8:40 AM   #4

Depth Of Field is controlled by 4 factors.
  • Lens focal length
  • aperture size
  • sensor size
  • distance to subject.

The longer the lens and the wider/bigger the aperture and the closer the distance all work together to set a shallow depth of field.

This site will let you calculate the exact DOF for any camera / lens / aperture / distance combination

From it I get these numbers for a 80mm lens and your camera.