Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Feb 12, 2004, 7:48 PM   #1
Default Help choosing computer for digital pics and video

I'm new to digital camera's and also got a mini DV camcorder, recently. This old computer is lacking for digital editing purposes. Do any of you have any sugestions for a good computer set up with a DVD/CD burner that's reasonably priced? Or perhaps somebody know's a good BB site where I could go ask this question. I'm not a computer geek so I need some help making a good decision.
Anyway, thanks for any help you might have for me.

Rick F is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 12, 2004, 8:43 PM   #2

Circuit City has this for $640 after rebates: eMachines T3025 Computer, Emachines EView 17F2 17-in. CRT Monitor, Lexmark Z705 color Printer. AMD Athlon XP 3000+ 2.1 GHz CPU. 512 MB DDR RAM, 160 GB Hard Drive, DVD-ROM & CD-RW Drives. nVidia 64MB GeForce4 MX graphics

It isnít going to be eye watering but competent. It isnít likely to be very expandable with a micro ATX board with only a couple of slots available and a minimal power supply. A friend is on his second E-Machines after lightening fried his 2 year old one and they are OK. The monitor isnít bad. Definitely not a gaming machine with MX graphics but more than sufficient for anything else.

You probably want a firewire port for the camcorder. Most computers come with one anymore but it is worth a check. The cards arenít expensive or hard to install, but you donít want to fill up your limited slots.

I built my current computer and was able to choose my parts, so I got what I wanted rather than what someone wanted to put on the computer. Iím sure I got a better computer out of it than if I had gone with E-Machines or even Dell, but it isnít something everyone would enjoy and you do have to do a lot of research. Putting the computer together is a piece of cake though.