Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Apr 6, 2004, 3:04 PM   #1
Default A camera for me and my "better half": striking the

I don't know how this happened, but suddenly my loved one brought up the subject of getting a digital camera. The thing is: it will be used by both of us, and we have different desires.

She wants: a simple "point-and-click", good for taking pictures indoors and outdoors.

I want: a camera with the ability to use manual settings, since I primarily will be using the camera in low light conditions.

If it was up to me, I would get something like an Powershot A80 or G3/G5, but she feels they have "waaaaay to many buttons". Also, the Olympus C-5060Z looks interesting. I'm open to other suggestions as well.

Of course, it doesn't help that I'm a newbie as well. I will have to learn everything from the ground up. And having a camera that makes it hard to take good pictures will not be the right way to go for either of us.

So, is there a camera that will more or less suit our needs:

- easy to pick up and use
- the ability to take good pictures in low light conditions
- I prefer buttons for manual settings, I know having to navigate a cumbersome menu system to change ISO will annoy me
- budget: up to $500-550

It's not a lot to go on, I know, but I feel like I have to take advantage of this sudden change of character with my girlfriend

OK, thanks for taking the time to read through this post.

patashnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 6, 2004, 3:12 PM   #2

I would recommend the Olympus C5050. This camera has a dial mode that will provide you with the following settings:

Program AE, Aperture priority, Shutter priority, Manual, My Mode, Movie, Night Scene, Landscape, Landscape+Portrait, Sports, Portrait