Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old May 9, 2004, 4:27 PM   #1

Being a registered techno-dummy, I noted with interest in a forum somewhere a reference to CCD size, and didn't quite understand the relevance.In considering a new DC, I've also noted that some 4 or 5 mp cameras have a "1/1.8" CCD, and other 4 or 5 mp have a "1/2.5." Other things being equal, does this mean anything? Is the 2.5 automatically better than the 1.8, or is it the reverse? Thanks....

Old Rooster
Old Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 9, 2004, 5:12 PM   #2

Old Rooster,

I'm no expert on the topic, but if digital cameras are anything like digital videocams, a larger CCD will usually result in better low light performance.

Usually a larger CCD means more megapixels.

TerryR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2004, 6:08 PM   #3

Larger is definetly better, but also definetly more expensive. Here's a link to a discussion regarding DSLR's and in there I mention about what sensor size does for image quality:

Most consumer cameras will top out at 2/3" sensor size, and prosumer and professional cameras will take on from there. Larger sensors gather more light and alow for cleaner images at higher senitivities (ISO 800 and above).
marokero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2004, 4:40 AM   #4

O.K. So, a 1/2.5 CCD is actually smaller than a 1/1.8. Right? I noticed a comparison by JimC of Marietta re: the Canon A80 and A75 pointing that out regarding low-light conditions. So, in my case, I'm looking at a Canon S410 with a 1/1.8 CCD and a Pentax S40 with a 1/2.5 CCD - both 4mp. Again, other things being equal (lens quality, etc.), should the smaller (1/1.8 mp) Canon preform better generally, and specifically in low-light situations? Thanks, again...

Dave (Old Rooster)
Old Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2004, 7:40 AM   #5