Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jun 15, 2004, 1:18 PM   #1

Ok, i've been researching for 2 months now and after reading lots of complaints about the canon s1 IS, that cannot take good picture indoors and low light without being an expert at it to trick it out, i've now come right back to square 1 and cannot figure out what camera to buy. the s1 IS was the one i was buying next week.

the use of the camera will be like this for next 2 years mostly outdoors action shot and landscape( so big zoom would be nice). 3 megapixel minimum. flip out lcd screenif possible.

i will only print up to 8x10 pictures once in a while...then the camera will be used for mostly family functions and indoor kids pictures ect....

So i need the best of both worlds, being able to zoom in on landscapes and buildings day or night on my vacations to Europe, and also being able to take family pictures...from what i read the canon s1 IS cannot do the later very well unless you are a pro which i am not....newbie at digital....

anybodys help would be great, today i noticed the kodak easyshare, what about hp945 or anything that anybody would feel that can siut my needs, i plan on keeping camera 5 years minimum....

thanks for all your help, now very frustrated on what to get.....
Belz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 15, 2004, 1:44 PM   #2

I'm not following why the S1 requires pro techniques indoors more than any other camera. It evidently has a good autofocus and the stabilization gives more versatility in limited light. It also has a decent flash range. The only downside I see to the camera for family indoor shooting is the lack of a hot shoe for an external flash, but I get the impression that would be to "pro" for you anyway.