Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jul 20, 2004, 4:58 PM   #1

Hi all

I am fairly new to my digital SLR (D70), but the other day captured some ammazing photo's at my local Moto X track, the owner saw me taking the photographs, asked to have a look, and he has now asked me to take photos for their web site. I need some advice on the settings ie : ISO, shutter speed, etc, if anyone has everdone MotoX photography. I own the Nikon D70 with kit lens. PLEASE HELP ME, i have to continue shooting on Thurs. I have been able to get some pretty good shots, but need some advice from an experienced extreme sports photographer.

Below you can see3 of the motoX photos i have taken. NB: these are posted on MSN's free service, so quality is no where near as good as the original.

PS: These guys move extremely fast !!!!!
CVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 20, 2004, 6:41 PM   #2

I don't own a D70, and I don't know the first thing about MotoX. However, I suspect that you'llneed shutter speeds in the 1/500 to 1/1000 second range for best results (especially when shooting a bike going parallel to you, versus away from you or towards you).

Of course, if you pan with the action, then shutter speeds used may not be as critical. You'll need to experiment to see how fast the shutter speeds need to be. You may even want to try a slightly slower speedfor creativity -- panning with a bike, letting the background blur from the panning motion. So, experiment.

Note that each time you double the ISO speed, the camera can use shutter speeds twice as fast, for the same aperture and lighting.For example, ISO 400 allows shutter speeds 4 times as fast as ISO 100.