Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jul 30, 2004, 10:06 AM   #1

ok. i am new to these forums so bare with me. this is my first post.

i covet the canon 1d mark ii. i have been using an e-10 for a few years, trying to move slow into digital from 645mf. this is the first camera i think i can live with. since i only have mf and the e-10 now, i'm not committed to any brand. i have used several over the years, but the last 35mm type slr i had was a nikon 8008s. i like canon at this point in time.

the thought of dust on the sensor scares me. i am wondering about using air blasters to 'clear' them. are there some that can be used without harm to the sensor? which ones? can i actually do some of this myself, or should i accept that i will need to have the camera serviced to get it cleared? is dust very problematic with dslr cameras? i will only have one lens for a time, so i hope not!

i guess i am a little concerned. after all, $4k for a body! and i may end up with two. brave new world.

thanks a bunch!

oab58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 30, 2004, 10:50 AM   #2

There are several things to consider. As far as I know, all DSLRs have a physical shutter screen just like SLRs. Also, there is a protective cover over the CCD element. But the first line of protection is the mirror. Unless your camera has a manual mirror lockup control, the mirror will be down anytime the lens is removed.

As for cleaning, it is not recommended that you try cleaning the CCD yourself, if you can even get to it. A soft brush and a LUBRICANT FREE compressed air can are the only things you should try. With the compressed "air" can, use only a slight pressure on the trigger to get a low pressure release. Try spraying it on a piece of paper towel first to see if there is anything that doesn't evaporate. If there is, don't use it on the camera.