Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jun 16, 2002, 5:03 PM   #1
Default DSLR's Questions

I have been an armature film photographer for many years, using Olympus OM equipment. I have recently been looking at the world of digital and have a couple of questions.

1, On a DSLR such as the Canon D60 does the view finder show the actual coverage of the lens in relation to the 1.6 multiplier needed to work out the focal length or does it show the same image as it would be if it was a 35mm camera.

2, Has anyone heard if any of the manufactures are going to be coming out with a specifically designed DSLR with interchangeable lenses, instead of taking a 35mm brother (or sister) camera and fitting a digital imaging system in to it.

The reason I ask this, is I have just worked out that to purchase a Canon D60 and Sigma Lenses (Canon lenses would be even more) and a couple of accessories such as larger CF cards would cost in the region of $6000 CAD. Way too much for my budget.
Raymond is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 16, 2002, 5:36 PM   #2
Default Some Answers...

The mirror and viewfinders on these cameras are designed to show you exactly what the sensor "sees". The accuracy is about identical to 35mm film cameras at somewhere between 98 to 100 percent. So in short, what you see is what you get.

Unlikely that we will see any lens systems specifically designed for digicams with various "crop factors". The actual bodies of newer digicams such as the EOS-D30/D60, 1D - Nikon D100, D1, D1H, D1X, etc., are designed as digital from the ground up. Only the older Kodak series of DCS cameras such as the DCS-460 - 560/660, etc., were built largely around existing camera bodies such as the F5.