Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Oct 2, 2002, 11:33 AM   #1
Default Why go for above 3 Megapixel ?

There is something that has been bugging me for a while, even though I have been using digital cameras for several years, so I thought I would see what views others have on the subject. Some may think the answer is obvious, if so please let me know!

Cameras are being produced with higher and higher resolution, (up to 14 megapixel!). There are obvious advantages to this, some being the ability to "crop" pictures after they are taken, to effectively zoom in (digitally) to one part of the picture. Another would be the ability to print out photo realistic pictures above 10"x8" (A4) size.

In addition some high end features may in some cases be offered on the higher megapixel cameras.

For those of us who do not "crop" or print large photos or worry too much about getting that one new feature, is there really any incentive to upgrade ? I have compared A4 high resolution prints taken from 2, 3 and 5 megapixel cameras, and there is little or no difference in the results, at least not to the naked (and somewhat trained I may add) eye.

Your views would be welcomed!

KevinJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 2, 2002, 12:04 PM   #2

with all due respect there is a difference at the larger end. there is a level of pixalation that will become evident.
if your looking for that tack sharpness and detail up the pixel count. think of it as the grain in film. in the long run if your satisfied with the output then thats where you stay. as i have said before and this is my opinion its not at the level of K64 and thats the film i have used for 25 years. its resolving power is still higher.

[Edited on 10-2-2002 by sjms]
sjms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2002, 12:15 PM   #3

As far as I'm concerned no.
steve6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2002, 2:48 PM   #4